Medals Hauled back from Australian Championships

Anna RobertsonCompetitive Gymnastics, e-News, International, Rhythmic gymnastics, Trampoline, Women's artistic gymnastics

Three NZ teams returned from across the ditch, with a haul of medals at the beginning of the month.  The 2017 Australian Gymnastics Championships saw more than 1,400 athletes compete for Australian national titles and (for our NZ teams) bragging rights.  The Australian pinnacle event saw our NZ teams win 32 medals Р13 gold, 7 silver and 12 bronze.

A big congratulations to all 63 athletes and 23 officials, who represented NZ.  Medal results are as follows:

Women’s Artistic Team

Maia Fishwick and Stella Ashcroft

Junior 15 Beam

  • Bronze – Maia Fishwick (Eastern Suburbs Gymnastics Club)


Junior 15 Floor

  • Silver – Stella Ashcroft NZ (Christchurch School of Gymnastics)
  • Bronze – Maia Fishwick NZ (Eastern Suburbs Gymnastics Club)


Junior 15 All-Around

  • Gold – Stella Ashcroft (Christchurch School of Gymnastics)
  • Bronze – Maia Fishwick NZ (Eastern Suburbs Gymnastics Club)


Junior 13 Uneven bars

  • Gold – Ariana Salaivao (Tri Star Gymnastics Club)


Rhythmic Team

NZ Rhythmic Team

Level 10 team

  • Bronze – Abbey Retter (Xtreme Rhythmix),¬†Susanna Denby (Counties Manukau),¬†Georgia Taylor (Diva Rhythmic),¬†Katherine Paton (Xtreme Rhythmix),¬†Paige Grant-Huggett (Xtreme Rhythmix)


Pre-Junior Hoop

  • Silver – Alicia Scott (Xtreme Rhythmix)


Pre-Junior Freehand

  • Bronze – Alicia Scott (Xtreme Rhythmix)


Senior International team

  • Bronze –¬†Stella Ebert (Xtreme Rhythmix),¬†Ashleigh Pont (Olympia Gymnastic Sports),¬†Grace Schroder (Counties Manukau Gymnastics),¬†Aya Probert (Xtreme Rhythmix)


Trampoline – Age Group Team


Holly Fisher and Maya James

Under 15 Female

  • Gold – Holly Fisher (Olympia Gymnastic Sports)
  • Bronze – Maya James (ICE Trampoline)


17+ Male

  • Gold – Kieran Growcott (ICE Trampoline)


17+ Female

  • Gold – Rhona Robertson (Extreme Trampoline)
  • Silver – Natalie Donovan (ICE Trampoline)


Under 15 Female Synchro

  • Gold – Holly Fisher (Olympia Gymnastic Sports)¬†& Maya James¬†(ICE Trampoline)
  • Bronze – Jorja Kellett-Reardon & Paige Epiha NZ (Hamilton City Gymsports)


17+ Years Female Synchro

  • Gold – Natalie Donovan (ICE Trampoline) & Rhona Robertson¬†(Extreme Trampoline)


Double-Mini Trampoline

Ethan Strickland and Harrison Smith

Under 11 Female

  • Gold – Susan Edmonds-Maney (Icon Trampoline)


Under 15 Female

  • Gold – Emily Reeves NZ (ICE Trampoline)


Under 15 Male

  • Gold – Ethan Strickland (Icon Trampoline)
  • Silver – Harrison Smith (North Shore Trampoline)


Trampoline – International Team

Youth Female Synchro

  • Bronze – Abigail Mills (Extreme Trampoline) & Leah Scholefield (Eastland Port Gisborne Trampoline Club)


Youth Male

  • Silver – Nathan Monkton (North Shore Trampoline)


Senior Female

  • Silver – Rachel Schmidt (Extreme Trampoline)


Senior Male

  • Gold – Dylan Schmidt (Extreme Trampoline)


Double-Mini Trampoline

Youth Female

  • Silver – Tamara Marcijasz (ICE Trampoline)


Youth Male

  • Gold – Nathan Monkton (North Shore Trampoline)


Junior Male

  • Bronze – Blake Costley (Extreme Trampoline)


Senior Female

  • Gold – Bronwyn Dibb (ICE Trampoline)


Full results can be found on the event website.