2018 NZ Champs a Hit in Tauranga

Anna Robertson2018 NZ Gymnastics Championships, Competitive Gymnastics, e-News

The 2018 New Zealand Gymnastics Championships held at the ASB Baypark Arena in Tauranga provided a fantastic location to reunite all five codes together again under one roof. As our national pinnacle event, it’s always exciting to showcase the best gymnastics from around the country, this year including our World Championships and Commonwealth Games athletes.

15 provinces competed for National titles, and it was wonderful to see so many athletes not only winning medals but achieving personal bests and individual goals. Athletes work hard all year to prepare so it’s really special to see so many come together to represent their province and display their hard work to friends and family. The large amount of support that athletes show one other, celebrating each other’s wins and creating and growing friendships off the competition floor, are other things that make this event so special.

This year we reached our biggest spectator numbers turning up to watch well over 1,000 athletes competing across the four days supported by 110 Coaches, 77 Managers, 140 Judges and 180 Volunteers. Our sincere thanks must go to all the amazing volunteers who gave up their time so willingly – we could not do it without you. The enthusiasm, local knowledge and friendliness go a long way to creating a great culture.

We were welcomed to the Bay of Plenty with open arms and would like to thank the clubs in the region for their on-going support. Our thanks are also extended to all the clubs who loaned equipment to ensure the athletes could compete at their best: ARGOS, Te Puke Gymsport, Mid Island Gym sports, Impact Gymsport Academy, Eastern Bay of Plenty Gymnastics club, Future Gymnastics, Gisborne Trampoline club, Hamilton City GymSports, Counties Manukau Gymnastics, Howick Gymnastics, Icon Trampoline, Mt Tauhara Gymnastics Clubs, Spiralz Rhythmics, Tri star Gymnastic club, Xtreme Rhythmix, Turn & Gymnastics Circle, Huntly Gymnastics Club, Franklin Gymsports and North Shore Trampoline

Thank you to all who joined us for the 2018 Event.  We hope you enjoyed it as much as we did.

And of course a big congratulations to all athletes who competed at Nationals.  Of  more than 1,000 athletes, there are only eight National titles per discipline and this year’s title holders are:

  • Aerobics – Hannah Wilton (Auckland)
  • Rhythmic – Stella Ebert (Auckland)
  • Women’s Artistic – Isabella Brett (Canterbury)
  • Men’s Artistic – Misha Koudinov (Auckland)
  • Women’s Trampoline – Alexa Kennedy (Gymsports Manukau)
  • Men’s Trampoline – Blake Costley (Gymsports Manukau)
  • Women’s Double Mini – Alexa Kennedy (Gymsports Manukau)
  • Men’s Double Mini – Campbell Robertson (Canterbury)

See also full results for all codes.

We are also pleased to have announced the 2019 NZ Gymnastics Championships this week – read full announcement and save the date now.  We very much look forward to seeing you all back in October.